## BLACKWATER REGIONAL LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING MINUTES July 24, 2024

**Present** 

MeChelle Blunt – Southampton County Ora Briggs – Sussex County Sylvia Claggett – Isle of Wight County Deborah Dawson – Surry County Terri Hedgepeth – City of Franklin Pam Lease – City of Franklin Kathy Lippard – Isle of Wight County Jessica Moore – Sussex County Judge Alfreda Talton-Harris – City of Franklin Pam Vaughan – Isle of Wight County Bill Worsham – Southampton County Ben Neal – Library Director Debbie Carter – Budget & Finance Manager Reagen Thalacker – Library of Virginia

## Remote (via Zoom)

<u>Absent</u> Jennifer Cuthbertson – Southampton County

Chair, Deborah Dawson called the Board Orientation/Refresher of the Blackwater Regional Library Board of Trustees to order at 1:05 p.m. at the Franklin Branch. Ms. Dawson then turned the Orientation over to Mr. Neal.

Mr. Neal introduced Reagen Thalacker of the Library of Virginia. Ms. Thalacker presented information on founding principles of librarianship, responsibilities of the Board, Board relationships, advocacy, records management/FOIA, and legal issues regarding book challenges.

Mr. Neal and the Board thanked Ms. Thalacker for her presentation. Mr. Neal proceeded to give a presentation on the structure, budget, and funding sources of Blackwater Regional Library, and answered questions from Board members.

Afterwards, Ms. Dawson moved to adjourn for a short break prior to resuming for the full meeting. The Board orientation was adjourned at 3:09 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Debbie Carter for Sylvia Claggett, Secretary