Board of Trustees

Blackwater Regional Library operates under a governing Board of Trustees. Each locality’s Board of Supervisors/City Council appoints members of the Board of Trustees to serve 4-year terms. The Board meets monthly, excluding August and December. All meetings are open to the public and generally take place on the third Wednesday of the month. View the meeting schedule and board packets.

The Board of Trustees can be contacted by emailing or by sending physical mail to:

Blackwater Regional Library Board of Trustees
22511 Main Street
Courtland, VA 23837

Please indicate in any correspondence if you would like a specific member of the Board to respond to your inquiry.

Board Members

City of Franklin

  • Judge Alfreda Talton-Harris, term expires 6/30/2027
  • Terri Hedgepeth, term expires 6/30/2024
  • Pamela Lease, term expires 6/30/2026

Isle of Wight County

  • Sylvia Claggett, Secretary, term expires 6/30/2026
  • Michelle Manfred, term expires 6/30/2024
  • Denise Tynes, term expires 6/30/2024
  • Pam Vaughan, term expires 6/30/2025

Southampton County

  • MeChelle Blunt, term expires 6/30/2027
  • Jennifer Cuthbertson, term expires 6/30/2026
  • William Worsham, Chair, term expires 6/30/2025

Surry County

  • Deborah Dawson, Vice-Chair, term expires 6/30/2026

Sussex County

  • Ora Briggs, term expires 6/30/2026
  • Jessica Moore, term expires 6/30/2025

Board Minutes